Skip to content

Reset Preferences ​

Aseprite preferences are stored in a aseprite.ini file in the configuration folder. You can access this folder from Edit > Preferences > Locate Configuration File. To reset all configuration you can close Aseprite and delete all the files where aseprite.ini is located:

Files in Preferences Folder

In case that you cannot start the program, here the steps on each platform to reset the preferences manually.

On Windows ​

  1. Close Aseprite

  2. Press the Windows key + R (or Start menu > Run... option). This will show the dialog to run a program. Then you write:

    %AppData%\Aseprite
    

    And press Enter key.

  3. Delete the files in that folder (mainly aseprite.ini)

  4. Restart Aseprite

On macOS ​

  1. Close Aseprite

  2. Open the Spotlight Search (⌘Space)

  3. Paste this text ~/Library/Application Support/Aseprite with ⌘V and press Enter:

    Spotlight Search

  4. Delete the files in that folder (mainly aseprite.ini)

  5. Restart Aseprite

On Linux ​

  1. Close Aseprite

  2. Open a Terminal

  3. Write:

    xdg-open ~/.config/aseprite
    
  4. Delete the files in that folder (mainly aseprite.ini)

  5. Restart Aseprite


SEE ALSO

Troubleshooting | Preferences | Preferences Folder